Kim Gaines Eckert, Psy.D.

Dr. Kim Gaines Eckert is a Senior Clinician for Complex Trauma Treatment Center. Dr. Eckert leads our CTTC Southeast region. She is a licensed clinical psychologist in the state of Tennessee and has been approved by the Psychology Interjurisdictional Compact (PSYPACT) to provide remote therapy services for adult clients residing in all participating US states and territories.

Kim has over 25 years of clinical experience, specializing in women’s sexuality, spirituality, traumatic stress, and anxiety disorders. She considers the therapeutic relationship a transformative and empowering space in which healing can occur when genuine safety and trust are present. Dr. Eckert draws upon Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing (EMDR), Acceptance and Commitment Therapy (ACT), Mindfulness Based Stress Reduction (MBSR), Internal Family Systems (IFS), and Component-Based Psychotherapy (CBP) as she partners with clients to bring compassion to their stories, nurture wounded parts of self, and enhance emotion regulation and interpersonal skills. Kim believes in the human capacity for deep change, constantly seeking a balance of challenge and gentleness in helping her clients attend to and learn from their own bodies and wisdom.

Prior to joining CTTC, Dr. Eckert was the co-founder and administrative director of a Tennessee-based group psychotherapy practice. She has served as a college professor and worked in inpatient and outpatient psychiatric hospital settings. Dr. Eckert is the author of two books: Things Your Mother Never Told You: A Woman’s Guide to Sexuality, and Stronger Than You Think: Becoming Whole Without Having to Be Perfect. She holds degrees in English and Anthropology from the University of Michigan, and a doctorate in Clinical Psychology from Wheaton College.



Teletherapy Multi-state

PSYPACT is an interstate compact designed to allow licensed psychologists to practice of telepsychology across state boundaries legally and ethically. As of 2024, PSYPACT is effective in 37 states, one U.S. territory, and Washington, DC: AL, AZ, AR, CO, CNMI, CT, DE, DC, FL, GA, ID, IL IN, KS, KY, ME, MD, MI, MN, MO, NC, ND, NE, NH, NJ, NV, OH, OK, PA, RI, SC, TN, TX, UT, VA, WA, WV, WI & WY.